PDA

View Full Version : Problems on Windows 7???


VerletztesHerz
12-19-2010, 04:52 AM
I downloaded the trial version of Gold because I was a huge fan of the original, but then my laptop with XP died and I got a new comp with Windows 7. So I was ecstatic when they said the game would run on 7. Well...no it won't. If anyone has tried to run the original game on 7 they know what I'm talking about when I mention enormous black splotches on the screen and impossibly glitchy gameplay. You can't even get past the main menu. And compatibility troubleshooting has never worked for ANYTHING, and this is no different. So please don't tell me to do compatibility troubleshooting, I'm tired of hearing that. I want to buy the game, but there's no point if the darn thing won't run. Ugh. What do I do?

vindictive
12-20-2010, 09:42 PM
I downloaded the trial version of Gold because I was a huge fan of the original, but then my laptop with XP died and I got a new comp with Windows 7. So I was ecstatic when they said the game would run on 7. Well...no it won't. If anyone has tried to run the original game on 7 they know what I'm talking about when I mention enormous black splotches on the screen and impossibly glitchy gameplay. You can't even get past the main menu. And compatibility troubleshooting has never worked for ANYTHING, and this is no different. So please don't tell me to do compatibility troubleshooting, I'm tired of hearing that. I want to buy the game, but there's no point if the darn thing won't run. Ugh. What do I do?


hi you did not specify what graphic card you are running ?

i found out the game runs shocking on a radeon (used to be known as ati)

cards, runs fine now on my nvidia graphic card on windows 7 64bit

hope this helps

regards john

VerletztesHerz
12-27-2010, 06:42 PM
Mine has an "NVIDIA GeForce 6150SE nForce 430"

Copied and pasted right from the system. >.>

vindictive
12-27-2010, 09:11 PM
Mine has an "NVIDIA GeForce 6150SE nForce 430"

Copied and pasted right from the system. >.>


i suppose you have tried full screen and windowed ?


tried the latest graphic card drivers ?

regards john

VerletztesHerz
12-28-2010, 09:59 PM
I'm trying to figure out how to update my drivers now, lol. I'll post when I do.

EDIT:: Ok I am currently updating my drivers. I'll try to run the game afterwards and let you know if it works.

VerletztesHerz
12-29-2010, 10:50 PM
It worked! Thanks, i can play it now!

vindictive
12-30-2010, 09:10 PM
It worked! Thanks, i can play it now!

cool

regards john